The Documented Life Project July Theme: Ephemera

This week’s DLP Art Challenge is to use old maps, letters, tickets “& more,” and the journal prompt is,  Life…with a history.

When I hear “ephemera,” I think of magazine clippings, junk mail envelopes, cancelled postage stamps, artsy product labels and bits and pieces of receipts.

I enjoyed this so much, I added a second page, which well documents the days following my July 4th holiday.  A cancelled postage stamp of the Madonna, cascading roses (her favorite!) from the latest Real Simple magazine, a Mix & Mingle stationery box label and pink acrylic painted hearts made for a bright page, which perfectly reflects my week of happy surprises! To tie this all together, I used a cosmetic sponge to blend the same shade of pink onto the roses to make them mine.

A peek at the second page reveals part of an emptied brown kraft Fresh Market package of espresso beans, which I painted and journaled over.  A piece of an Anthropologie receipt will later remind me of a drive to Palm Beach Gardens to spend a generous gift card from a friend who always brings joy to my heart.

I’m passionate about these journal prompts and look forward to seeing what other members create as they inspire me with each weekly challenge!

2 thoughts on “The Documented Life Project July Theme: Ephemera

  1. For some reason, it surprises me when I see your work here. Sometimes my blog life and my DLP life seem separate. I find it surprising more don’t post in the Art 5 gallery but I have seen people doing free videos on their DLP.

    Like

Leave a Reply

