The Documented Life Project July Theme: Ephemera – July 11 Challenge: Focal Point vs. Layering

This week’s DLP Art Challenge is to create with a focal point and add layering as you go.

As you might have guessed, I’m all about hearts; all about love!

So after journaling in white over my shabby background of teal, lavender and yellow-gold acrylics, I began layering hearts with a cosmetic sponge through a stencil with red and pink acrylics to create an upward motion.  The illusion is that the hearts get smaller as they rise, but in fact they were laid down using the same stencil I drew and cut from a magazine cover for stability.

In following with the ephemera theme, I chose a small piece of an antique staple box, which blended right into the page.  I inked and splattered over it, which led me to my focal point of lettering, “focus on love.”

I’m so passionate about these journal prompts and look forward to seeing what other members create as they inspire me with each weekly challenge! Supplies used:  Artist’s Loft Acrylics (Michaels), Black India Ink (Michaels), White Uniball Signo Gel Pen (Everything Stamps & Stencils), Cosmetic Sponges (Dollar Tree).

e.

3 thoughts on “The Documented Life Project July Theme: Ephemera – July 11 Challenge: Focal Point vs. Layering

  1. I look forward to them, have an idea and then I don’t know what happens. I think I am over thinking. But it has been hard for me. I think if I was using it as an actual journal/calendar it might be easier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

