The Documented Life Project – October Theme: Translucent Papers

This week’s DLP challenge prompted me to use a few of the messy drip and blot papers in my trash stash.

This is a 12″x12″ thin linen canvas that I started with a coat of gesso then a soft layer of burnt umber.  After both layers dried, I began adding the paper scraps with matte medium.  With a mini flat brush, I added a white flower, some leaves and a vine, which is barely visible after giving the whole piece a good paper towel rub to bring it all together.

At the last moment, I used black India ink to journal on a scrap of printer paper that was splattered with acrylic paint.  I tore it out then applied it to the top of the canvas with matte medium.

I think this piece has an Oriental flair and I’m happy with it, so it’s now hanging in my Etsy shop, waiting for a new home.  Konbanwa!

One thought on “The Documented Life Project – October Theme: Translucent Papers

  1. This may be your best work yet. Subtle and draws me in for a closer look.

    Sent from my iPhone Michael T Tichvon 248-214-3600

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

