The Documented Life Project – October Theme: Translucent Papers – This Week’s Challenge: Vellum

Crinkled vellum paper is wonderful to use as a drip pad for your art when you recycle it as background material for your journal pages.

Here I applied a large piece of it to the entire two pages of my journal with matte medium, then trimmed the edges.  Easy peasy…half done!

More matte medium…I randomly applied pieces of ephemera from my stash, then decoupaged over them for posterity.  Next, I used a plastic paint spatula to apply heavy body turquoise acrylic through a sheet of stencil “waste.”

With a popsicle stick, I transferred today’s date, “ten 17 15,” using rub-ons.

To finish, I scratched the words from today’s journal prompt, “Sheer Genius” with the tip of an India Ink dropper, then tapped the excess droplets about both pages.

It was a rough week that continued through today, but this week’s Challenge arrived just in time to help put some art back into my heart.  Thanks once again, DLP friends…love having you in my life!  E.

7 thoughts on “The Documented Life Project – October Theme: Translucent Papers – This Week’s Challenge: Vellum

  1. I love the colour palette and the scrubby, grungy textures. You did a great job with this challenge – including getting it find on the day the prompt was issued. I don’t have vellum so I’m thinking of a workaround for this week’s challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

