The Documented Life Project Catch-Up – Using an “Un” Hand Carved Stamp

November Theme
Stencils, Stamps & Masks
November 14
Art Challenge: Use a Hand Carved Stamp
Journal Prompt: Tapestries

I’ll have to say, I’m not wild about creating with rubber stamps.  Occasionally I’ll stamp out a word or two with my mini alpha set, but as for images, I’d rather design with the tip of my trusty ink dropper.

Yet each week, DLP challenges me to a technique I might not have tried on my own, and it always leads to something wonderful, like these inky butterflies, taking wing within my pages.

There’s nothing to lose when it comes to art.  Years from now, should I return to this page, what will I remember?  Perhaps the beginning of my new love for rubber stamps!

e.

One thought on “The Documented Life Project Catch-Up – Using an “Un” Hand Carved Stamp

  1. I think your page is glorious. Those colours are so rich and the style of the butterflies meshes well with your doodles and mark making. I’m with you, Elizabeth: I’m not especially a fan of using stamped images in my own work either. I like to draw way too much for that. However, I also agree that doing the DLP means getting pushed to try new things, some that we click with and others that we don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

