Five Minute Face

A year ago, I tried my hand at drawing a face after watching Dina Wakley’s tutorial.  I wasn’t crazy about the result, but posted it nonetheless (you can see it in my Archives).

Since then, I’ve abandoned the idea altogether.  Even in photography, my passion lies in shooting flowers, birds and things – seldom people.

But this past weekend, my husband and I were on travel and I’d decided to bring along a few art supplies.  Not wanting to splatter paint in the hotel room, I chose a box of oil pastels, which I use occasionally on my canvases to highlight and add brilliance.

When hubby decided to go to the lobby to to pick up a newspaper, I took out the pastels and began to play around with the black crayon.  It glided across the page like silk, and within the five minutes it took him to return, I had outlined this face and filled it in with soft red, orange, rust and green.

I’m happier with this, my second face, but wonder how it might have turned out if I’d put more effort into it.  Hubby loved it, and if it weren’t for his raving, I’d have kept it in my private stash.  So stay tuned for face #3…hopefully sooner than the last!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Face

Leave a Reply

