Neons over Brown Kraft

Repurposing another vintage book, “The Potato Garden”, A Grower’s Guide, by Maggie Oster. Not sure of the copyright year since I already worked the first page, but it’s the perfect type of book to journal in. The pages are heavy, brown kraft, have wonderful illustrations you can include in your art and don’t have an overwhelming number of pages. Why spend top dollar for mixed media journals and sketchbooks when you can pick these up for a quarter or so at thrift shops. First page held up beautifully to a layer of gesso and heavy body acrylics through stencils. (Sorry, Maggie!)

I’m loving the bright paints I’m using to cover the brown kraft pages. Here I used an array of Artist Loft neon acrylics applied with brushes, my fingers and a palette knife through stencils. Getting out my heat gun because I can’t wait to turn the page and start again!

3 thoughts on “Neons over Brown Kraft

Leave a Reply

